Supreme Judicial Council

Established in 1991 by the Constitution. Legal person and standing body that ensures the independence of the judiciary (under the Judiciary Act). It consists of 25 members with at least 15 years of legal experience. The Chairmen of the Supreme Court and the Supreme Administrative Court and the Chief Prosecutor participate by default. Eleven members are elected by the National Assembly, the other eleven - by the Judiciary. The mandate of the Council is five years and its members can not be reelected.

The Council gathers at least once a week. It resolves issues related to the budget of the judiciary system, to the discipline, training and career of the magistrates (it is the body to promote, transfer and discharge). The Supreme Judicial Council proposes to the President the chairmen of the Supreme Court of Cassation, Supreme Administrative Court and the Chief Prosecutor.